Bug 66371

Summary: ALPS touchpad scrolling on HP Pavilion does not work
Product: Drivers Reporter: Anthony Wong (ypwong)
Component: Input DevicesAssignee: drivers_input-devices
Status: RESOLVED CODE_FIX    
Severity: normal CC: dmitry.torokhov, pali
Priority: P1    
Hardware: x86-64   
OS: Linux   
Kernel Version: 3.13-rc2 Subsystem:
Regression: No Bisected commit-id:

Description Anthony Wong 2013-12-03 06:56:22 UTC
The touchpad was detected as PS/2 mouse, edge scrolling won't work

Debugging information:
$ xinput
⎡ Virtual core pointer id=2	[master pointer (3)]
⎜ ↳ Virtual core XTEST pointer id=4	[slave pointer (2)]
⎜ ↳ PS/2 Generic Mouse id=11	[slave pointer (2)]
⎣ Virtual core keyboard id=3	[master keyboard (2)]
    ↳ Virtual core XTEST keyboard id=5	[slave keyboard (3)]
    ↳ Power Button id=6	[slave keyboard (3)]
    ↳ Video Bus id=7	[slave keyboard (3)]
    ↳ Power Button id=8	[slave keyboard (3)]
    ↳ HP Truevision HD id=9	[slave keyboard (3)]
    ↳ AT Translated Set 2 keyboard id=10	[slave keyboard (3)]
    ↳ HP WMI hotkeys id=12	[slave keyboard (3)]

in /proc/bus/input/devices, the touchpad was detected as "PS/2 Generic Mouse"

in dmesg, it seems that the ALPS touchpad was not recognized:
[ 9.760610] psmouse serio1: alps: Unknown ALPS touchpad: E7=73 03 50, EC=73 02 02

Original bug reported at https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/linux-lts-raring/+bug/1256213
Comment 1 Anthony Wong 2013-12-23 07:40:26 UTC
If there's any other information required to make progress in this bug, please let me know. Thanks.
Comment 2 Dmitry Torokhov 2013-12-23 18:07:32 UTC
It would be helpful to know the real model of the touchpad (what the other OS identifies it as?). ALPS driver is too eager to print that messages, even for non-ALPS touchpads. I should downgrade it to debug...
Comment 3 Pali Rohár 2015-07-12 09:57:09 UTC
alps.c should identify it as protocol V5, see code:

		if (e7[0] == 0x73 && e7[1] == 0x03 && e7[2] == 0x50 &&
			   ec[0] == 0x73 && (ec[1] == 0x01 || ec[1] == 0x02)) {
			protocol = &alps_v5_protocol_data;
Comment 4 Dmitry Torokhov 2015-07-13 21:03:46 UTC
Well, I guess we can close it as code fix then...