Bug 9086 - Regression in 2.6.23-pre Was: Problems with 2.6.23-rc6 on AMD Geode LX800
Regression in 2.6.23-pre Was: Problems with 2.6.23-rc6 on AMD Geode LX800
Status: CLOSED CODE_FIX
Product: Platform Specific/Hardware
Classification: Unclassified
Component: i386
All Linux
: P1 normal
Assigned To: platform_i386
:
Depends on:
Blocks: 9056
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2007-09-26 15:52 UTC by Rafael J. Wysocki
Modified: 2007-09-29 05:36 UTC (History)
1 user (show)

See Also:
Kernel Version: after 2.6.22
Tree: Mainline
Regression: Yes


Attachments

Description Rafael J. Wysocki 2007-09-26 15:52:28 UTC
References      : http://lkml.org/lkml/2007/9/26/91
Submitter       : Joerg Pommnitz <pommnitz@yahoo.com>
Caused-By       : H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
                  commit 4fd06960f120e02e9abc802a09f9511c400042a5
                  Use the new x86 setup code for i386
Handled-By      : H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Comment 1 Rafael J. Wysocki 2007-09-26 15:54:11 UTC
Patch is available: http://lkml.org/lkml/2007/9/26/374
Comment 2 Rafael J. Wysocki 2007-09-27 04:45:08 UTC
Fixed by:

Commit:     2efa33f81ef56e7700c09a3d8a881c96692149e5
Parent:     bbc15f46fe4dc2862325e2b4ba474a854162e1a1
Author:     H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
AuthorDate: Wed, 26 Sep 2007 21:11:43 +0000 (14:11 -0700)
Committer:  H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
CommitDate: Wed, 26 Sep 2007 21:15:04 +0000 (14:15 -0700)

[x86 setup] Handle case of improperly terminated E820 chain

http://git.kernel.org/?p=linux/kernel/git/torvalds/linux-2.6.git;a=commit;h=2efa33f81ef56e7700c09a3d8a881c96692149e5
Comment 3 Rafael J. Wysocki 2007-09-28 13:42:50 UTC
The fix from Comment #2 broke Dell XPS M1330 (ref. http://lkml.org/lkml/2007/9/27/297).

Another fix has been proposed: http://lkml.org/lkml/2007/9/27/322
Comment 4 Rafael J. Wysocki 2007-09-29 05:36:30 UTC
Mainline fix:

Commit:     4ee5b10abeb2b5581be10d3022694cd19084e9b0
Parent:     ff0ce6845bc18292e80ea40d11c3d3a539a3fc5e
Author:     H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
AuthorDate: Fri, 28 Sep 2007 00:17:12 +0000 (17:17 -0700)
Committer:  H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
CommitDate: Fri, 28 Sep 2007 17:12:44 +0000 (10:12 -0700)

[x86 setup] Correct the SMAP check for INT 0x15, AX=0xe820

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.