Bug 24362 - perf hw in kexeced kernel broken in tip
perf hw in kexeced kernel broken in tip
Status: CLOSED CODE_FIX
Product: Platform Specific/Hardware
Classification: Unclassified
Component: i386
All Linux
: P1 normal
Assigned To: platform_i386
:
Depends on:
Blocks: 21782
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2010-12-05 14:18 UTC by Maciej Rutecki
Modified: 2011-01-15 12:49 UTC (History)
5 users (show)

See Also:
Kernel Version: v2.6.37-rc4
Tree: Mainline
Regression: Yes


Attachments

Description Maciej Rutecki 2010-12-05 14:18:56 UTC
Subject    : perf hw  in kexeced kernel broken in tip
Submitter  : Yinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org>
Date       : 2010-12-01 8:00
Message-ID : 4CF60095.1020900@kernel.org
References : http://marc.info/?l=linux-kernel&m=129119055922065&w=2

This entry is being used for tracking a regression from 2.6.36. Please don't
close it until the problem is fixed in the mainline.

Caused by:

commit 33c6d6a7ad0ffab9b1b15f8e4107a2af072a05a0
Author: Don Zickus <dzickus@redhat.com>
Date:   Mon Nov 22 16:55:23 2010 -0500

    x86, perf, nmi: Disable perf if counters are not accessible
      
    Reported-by: Jason Wessel <jason.wessel@windriver.com>
    Patch-inspired-by: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
    Signed-off-by: Don Zickus <dzickus@redhat.com>
    Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
    Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
    LKML-Reference: <1290462923-30734-1-git-send-email-dzickus@redhat.com>
    Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>

First-Bad-Commit : 33c6d6a7ad0ffab9b1b15f8e4107a2af072a05a0
Comment 1 Florian Mickler 2011-01-15 12:48:32 UTC
Fixed by

commit c277443cfc29b1623b4923219ff0bdb48b91b589
Author: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Date:   Wed Dec 8 15:29:02 2010 +0100

    perf: Stop all counters on reboot

and 

commit 4407204c5c9037763aadce39b025529dfbfcac9e
Author: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Date:   Wed Dec 8 15:56:23 2010 +0100

    perf, x86: Detect broken BIOSes that corrupt the PMU
Comment 2 Florian Mickler 2011-01-15 12:49:42 UTC
(Yinghai, correct me if I'm wrong)

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.