Bug 12923

Summary: eee901 hcid: when suspended with pand connection up, resume and pand connect again, kernel freezes - EEE901
Product: Power Management Reporter: Cijoml Cijomlovic Cijomlov (cijoml)
Component: Hibernation/SuspendAssignee: power-management_other
Status: CLOSED INSUFFICIENT_DATA    
Severity: blocking CC: aaron.lu, marcel, rjw, rui.zhang, yakui.zhao
Priority: P1    
Hardware: All   
OS: Linux   
Kernel Version: 3.2.1 Tree: Mainline
Regression: No
Bug Depends on:    
Bug Blocks: 7216    

Description Cijoml Cijomlovic Cijomlov 2009-03-23 23:14:25 UTC
Latest working kernel version: unknown
Earliest failing kernel version: 2.6.29-rc3
Distribution: Debian stable
Hardware Environment: EEE901
Software Environment: Debian stable
Problem Description:
when suspended with pand connection up, resume and pand connect again, kernel freezes

Steps to reproduce:

killall hcid ; hcid; killall pand; 
pand --connect 00:17:83:XX:XX:XX; 
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
This is where kernel freezes after reinitialize connection after resume
sleep 5; killall dhclient ;dhclient bnep0

doesn't matter if suspend is into ram or disk
Comment 1 ykzhao 2009-03-30 06:01:49 UTC
Hi, Cijoml
    Does the system freeze if there is no pand connection?
    Will you please attach the output of acpidump?
    Thanks.
Comment 2 Cijoml Cijomlovic Cijomlov 2009-03-30 09:44:54 UTC
Hi,

it freezes only when I use pand connection. If I disconnect pand connection first, it also resumes fine. That leads me to problem in BlueZ code not in Acpi code.
Comment 3 Zhang Rui 2009-10-15 07:55:33 UTC
does the problem still exist in the latest kenrel?
Comment 4 Cijoml Cijomlovic Cijomlov 2009-10-15 16:58:09 UTC
yes - you can try it yourself - it is not hardware dependent problem
Comment 5 Zhang Rui 2012-01-18 01:46:23 UTC
Hmmm, Cijoml,
are you still using the eeepc 901? And does the problem still exists in the latest upstream kernel?
Comment 6 Cijoml Cijomlovic Cijomlov 2012-01-19 00:25:36 UTC
hello, 

yes I still use EEE901 and this problem is still with us even in 3.2.1
Comment 7 Aaron Lu 2013-06-04 05:59:06 UTC
Hello,

If you still have this problem, I can re-assign this bug to Drivers/Bluetooth. Please let me know the status, thanks.