Bug 12735

Summary: Sound don't work with my toshiba X200 and kernel 2.6.29
Product: Drivers Reporter: chepioq (chepioq)
Component: Sound(ALSA)Assignee: Takashi Iwai (tiwai)
Status: CLOSED CODE_FIX    
Severity: normal CC: alan, florian, rjw
Priority: P1    
Hardware: All   
OS: Linux   
Kernel Version: 2.6.31 Tree: Mainline
Regression: Yes
Bug Depends on:    
Bug Blocks: 12398    
Attachments: output of war/log/dmesg
codec.file
codec1.txt
/var/log/messages
/var/log/dmesg.txt
lspci-nv.txt
alsa-info.txt
Patch to fix Toshiba X200 probe on 2.6.29

Description chepioq 2009-02-17 23:14:59 UTC
Latest working kernel version:2.6.28-3.fc11
Earliest failing kernel version:2.6.29-0.124.rc5.fc11
Distribution:Fedora 11 rawhide
Hardware Environment:00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)

Software Environment:Alsa, Pulseaudio
Problem Description:
I tested F11 rawhide and with the latest kernel (2.6.29) I have no sound.
I post a bug on bugzilla of Fedora (https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=485295 ) and they respond me it is a kernel bug...
I have sound with F11 rawhide and kernel 2.6.28

Tell me if you want any informations...
Thank
Chepioq
Comment 1 Takashi Iwai 2009-02-17 23:23:44 UTC
Please show the content of /proc/asound/cards (if any) and the kernel messages.
Comment 2 Takashi Iwai 2009-02-17 23:24:06 UTC
... and show your kernel config, too.
Comment 3 chepioq 2009-02-17 23:52:21 UTC
Created attachment 20294 [details]
output of war/log/dmesg
Comment 4 chepioq 2009-02-17 23:54:51 UTC
Output of /proc/asound/cards
[dominique@localhost ~]$ cat /proc/asound/cards
--- no soundcards ---
Where I found kernel message and kernel config?
I create an attachement for var/log/dmesg
Comment 5 Takashi Iwai 2009-02-17 23:59:11 UTC
Load snd-hda-intel module with probe_only=1 option.  Then give the contents of /proc/asound/card0/codec#* files.

I guess it'll work with probe_mask=1 option (without probe_only=1).
Comment 6 chepioq 2009-02-18 07:24:59 UTC
[dominique@localhost ~]$ modprobe_only=1 snd-hda-intel
bash: snd-hda-intel : commande introuvable
and I have not a /proc/asound/card0/ folder, I have just two folder: oss ans seq
Comment 7 chepioq 2009-02-18 07:38:59 UTC
For info I attach the content of /proc/asound/card0/codec#* for the 2.6.28 kernel
Comment 8 chepioq 2009-02-18 07:39:54 UTC
Created attachment 20296 [details]
codec.file
Comment 9 Takashi Iwai 2009-02-18 08:14:06 UTC
modprobe snd-hda-intel probe_only=1
Comment 10 Takashi Iwai 2009-02-18 08:18:44 UTC
Also try to build the kernel sound git tree from
    git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/tiwai/sound-2.6.git
This contains the very latest ALSA tree.
Comment 11 chepioq 2009-02-18 08:46:36 UTC
Ok 
"modprobe snd-hda-intel probe_only=1"
don't return errors,but no sound and no /proc/asound/card0/ folder and no /proc/asound/card0/codec# files.
For comment #10 I don't know how do that....
Comment 12 Takashi Iwai 2009-02-18 09:18:36 UTC
First unload the module, then load it with the option.

modprobe won't complain and do anything when called for a module that is already present.
Comment 13 chepioq 2009-02-18 10:09:25 UTC
OK... I do 
[root@localhost ~]# rmmod snd-hda-intel
[root@localhost ~]# modprobe snd-hda-intel probe_only=1
and now I have a /proc/asound/card0/codec# files
I create and attachement file: codec1.txt
Comment 14 chepioq 2009-02-18 10:10:06 UTC
Created attachment 20298 [details]
codec1.txt
Comment 15 Rafael J. Wysocki 2009-02-18 12:28:53 UTC
Handled-By : Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.de>
Comment 16 chepioq 2009-02-18 22:18:03 UTC
For info I send you the output for sound of /var/log/messages and /var/log/dmesg
Comment 17 chepioq 2009-02-18 22:18:48 UTC
Created attachment 20310 [details]
/var/log/messages
Comment 18 chepioq 2009-02-18 22:19:46 UTC
Created attachment 20311 [details]
/var/log/dmesg.txt
Comment 19 Takashi Iwai 2009-02-18 22:55:44 UTC
Use probe_mask=0x1 (or probe_mask=0x3 if you need a modem) option as mentioned.
Comment 20 chepioq 2009-02-18 23:42:15 UTC
OK...
THAT WORK!!!!!
I do 
[root@localhost ~]# rmmod snd-hda-intel
[root@localhost ~]# modprobe snd-hda-intel probe_mask=0x1
I have sound, and alsamixer work...
But when I reboot I am obliged to do this two lines in console...
Thank a lot, Takashi Iwai
Comment 21 Alexey Dobriyan 2009-02-19 12:34:28 UTC
> But when I reboot I am obliged to do this two lines in console...

See modprobe.conf(5) manpage and "options" line.
Comment 22 Takashi Iwai 2009-03-01 01:44:35 UTC
Could you give the lspci -nv output?  I need to know the PCI SSID.  Is it 1179:ff00?

Or, at best, once load the driver with probe_only=1 option, then run alsa-info.sh script with --no-upload option, and attach the generated file.  The script is found at
    http://www.alsa-project.org/alsa-info.sh
Comment 23 chepioq 2009-03-01 05:23:25 UTC
Created attachment 20392 [details]
lspci-nv.txt
Comment 24 chepioq 2009-03-01 05:24:11 UTC
Created attachment 20393 [details]
alsa-info.txt
Comment 25 chepioq 2009-03-01 05:25:37 UTC
(In reply to comment #22)
> Could you give the lspci -nv output?  I need to know the PCI SSID.  Is it
> 1179:ff00?
> 
> Or, at best, once load the driver with probe_only=1 option, then run
> alsa-info.sh script with --no-upload option, and attach the generated file. 
> The script is found at
>     http://www.alsa-project.org/alsa-info.sh
> 
OK
I create two attachments: lspci-nv.txt and alsa-info.txt
Comment 26 Takashi Iwai 2009-03-01 23:11:41 UTC
Thanks.  Then it must be the same as Alexy has.
The patch below should fix the problem on 2.6.29 kernel.
Comment 27 chepioq 2009-03-01 23:21:24 UTC
(In reply to comment #26)
> Thanks.  Then it must be the same as Alexy has.
> The patch below should fix the problem on 2.6.29 kernel.
> 

Thank and ok
But where is this patch?
Comment 28 Takashi Iwai 2009-03-01 23:25:47 UTC
Created attachment 20403 [details]
Patch to fix Toshiba X200 probe on 2.6.29
Comment 29 chepioq 2009-03-01 23:48:09 UTC
Ok, thank for this patchbut...
I never apply a patch and I don't how to made this...
Do you tell me how can do it?
Comment 30 chepioq 2009-03-02 08:23:00 UTC
With help of fedora-fr community, I can patch the latest kernel of koji (2.6.29-0.176.rc6.git5.fc11.x86_64) and now I have sound...
Thank a lot Takashi Iwai.
Comment 31 Rafael J. Wysocki 2009-03-02 12:53:46 UTC
Patch : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/attachment.cgi?id=20403&action=view
Comment 33 Takashi Iwai 2009-03-02 22:46:21 UTC
*** Bug 12810 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***
Comment 34 chepioq 2009-06-21 05:31:24 UTC
I reopen this bug:
I test actually Fedora12 rawhide, who have a 2.6.31 kernel, and there is same problem: no sound with my toshiba.
I do:
[root@localhost ~]# rmmod snd-hda-intel
[root@localhost ~]# modprobe snd-hda-intel probe_mask=0x1
 And I have sound.
I think that you have to do a patch for this kernel, like for kernel 2.6.29 (for kernel 2.6.30 they have not this problem...)
If you want, I can open a new bug rapport for this.
thank.
chepioq
Comment 35 Florian Mickler 2010-09-27 15:16:15 UTC
Is this still a problem?
Comment 36 Florian Mickler 2010-11-11 19:30:54 UTC
The patch that is reported to fix this should be in all mainline kernels as of 2.6.29-rc7. 

If you still have problems, it is unrelated to this bug, please open a new bug if you can still reproduce the new issue on current mainline kernels.